SRE Authorisation

Authorisation refers to the permission given to a person by an Approved Provider (which may be via a church body, local minister or leader of a church or religious persuasion) to teach SRE on their behalf at the school(s) within the church/parish boundaries. To be authorised a person must be trained in classroom management and child protection, have a Working With Children Check Number and have signed a declaration that they have not been convicted of various offences.

No person may teach SRE in a NSW public school without formal authorisation by a local minister or leader of a denomination or religious persuasion approved by the Department of Education. The Department’s website lists the religious persuasions that are currently approved

https://education.nsw.gov.au/curriculum/religion-and-ethics/approved-sre-providers

Schools can ask for verification of authorisation and proof of identity. The carrying of an authorisation card and wearing of a nametag  is the preferred way for the SRE teacher to provide evidence that this process has been completed according to the current requirements.

Cross – Authorisation (of SRE Teachers in Joint-Denominational Programs)

2017_Combined_arrangements_form

The nature and operation of joint-denominational/combined arrangement programs can vary considerably, particularly between primary schools and secondary schools, where often an employment Board will oversee SRE.

Whatever the model, every participating church needs to authorise (also called cross-authorise) every SRE teacher who participates in the program. This should occur annually . Each participating church should keep written records of the joint authorisations.

Check the websites listed below of ICCOREIS member churches to find out about authorisation procedures and training requirements.

 

Anglican Church

Diocese of Grafton

 http://www.graftondiocese.org.au/sre

Contact: Rev Michael. Ridge

Diocese of Armidale

http://www.armidaleanglicandiocese.com/ministries/special-religious-education

Contact: Mrs Janene Lewers

Email: lewersj@gmail.com

Australian Christian Churches

http://www.nswacc.org.au/ 

Contact: Pastor Allyson Parker

Email: allyson@inchurch.com.au

 

Baptist Churches of New South Wales and ACT

http://baptistsre.nswactbaptists.org.au/Baptist_SRE/Welcome.html

Contact:Rev Cheryl Clendinning

Email: sre@nswactbaptists.org.au

 

Catholic Church

Diocese of Armidale

Email: ccd@arm.catholic.edu.au

 

Diocese of Bathurst

Contact: Helen Ryan

Email  srebathurst@gmail.com

 

Diocese of Broken Bay

www.dbb.org.au/ccd

Contact: Alison Newell

Email: alison.newell@dbb.org.au

 

Diocese of Canberra/Goulburn

 Email: matt.ransom@catholiclife.org.au

 

Diocese of Lismore

Ph: 02 6622 0422

 

Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle

DoMN SRE website

Contact: Mr John Donnelly

Email: john.donnelly@mn.catholic.org.au

 

Diocese of Parramatta

DoP CCD SRE website

Ph: 02 9890 4731

 

Archdiocese of Sydney 

ADoS CCD SRE website

Contact: Mr Douglas Mawhinney

Ph: 02  9390 5127

Email: douglas@ccdsydney.catholic.edu.au

 

Diocese of Wagga Wagga

DoWW SRE Website

Contact: Miss Victoria Kirley

Ph: 02 6937 0015

Email: catechist@wagga.catholic.edu.au

 

Diocese of Wilcannia/Forbes

Contact: Mrs Therese Newell

Ph: 02 6853 9300

Email: theresen@wf.forbes.edu.au

 

Diocese of Wollongong

DoW CCD website

Contact: Mr Jude Hennessy

Ph: 02 4253 0987

Email: jude.hennessy@dow.org.au

 

Christian Community Churches of Australia –

(Recognised as Christian Brethren Assemblies)

Contact: Mr Bradley Scott

Ph: 02 9626 0055

Email: brad@cccaustnsw.com

 

Churches of Christ

Contact: Mr Adam Stewart

Ph: 02 4294 1430

Email:  adam.stewart@thetops.com.au

 

 Fellowship of Congregational Churches

Mr Paul Warren

Email: CpWarren@optusnet.com.au

 

Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia

Contact: Fr Constantine Varipatis

Ph: 02 9587 5083

Email: fr_con@optusnet.com.au

 

Lutheran Church

Contact: Kaye Simpfendorfer

Email: kaye@nsw.lca.org.au

 

Presbyterian Church

Contact: Mr Peter Adamson

Ph: 02 8567 4760

Email: peteradamson@pynsw.org.au

 

 The Salvation Army

Contact: Major John Viles

Ph: 02 9727 3836        Email: john.viles@aue.salvationarmy.org

 

Serbian Orthodox Church

Contact: Mrs Angela Bubalo

Ph: 02 9982 5414

Email: angelastailormadeceremonies@gmail.com

 

Seventh-day Adventist Church

Contact:  Pastor Daron Pratt

Ph: 02 4951 8088

Email:daronpratt@adventist.org.au

Uniting Church

Contact: Ms Emma Parr

Ph: 02 8838 8977

Email: emmap@nsw.uca.org.au